A Resistência no jornalismo tem nome e sobrenome

with No Comments

Honoring Outstanding Reporting in Latin America and the Caribbean

Investigative Reporters, Photojournalist and Audio Journalist Win

Columbia Journalism School announced the 2020 winners of the Maria Moors Cabot Prizes for outstanding reporting on the Americas. The 2020 Cabot Prize winners are Ricardo Calderón Villegas, investigative reporter, Colombia; Patrícia Campos Mello, Folha de S. Paulo, Brazil; Stephen Ferry, photojournalist, United States; and reporter Carrie Kahn, NPR, United States.

The Cabot Prizes honor journalists for career excellence and coverage of the Western Hemisphere that furthers inter-American understanding. Godfrey Lowell Cabot of Boston founded the Maria Moors Cabot Prizes as a memorial to his wife in 1938. They are the oldest international journalism awards.

Patrícia Campos Mello, Folha de S. Paulo, Brazil

In these challenging times when independent journalism is under attack in Brazil and other countries throughout the Americas, the Maria Moors Cabot Board honors Patrícia Campos Mello as a prime example of a professional journalist who continues to do her job in the face of adversity. There is no democracy without Patrícias, without a free press.

Stephen Ferry, photojournalist, United States

With the patience of an anthropologist and great humanity, photographer Stephen Ferry has dedicated more than three decades of his life to projects with impact that have become models of immersive photojournalism. 

Parabéns Patrícia Campos Mello

Parabéns Stephen Ferry

Parabéns Ricardo Calderón Villegas

Parabéns Carrie Kahn

Leave a Reply